The 2018 edition of Blurring the lines was curated by Steve Bisson & Lisanne van Happen.

The call aimed to select and exhibited images that best communicate the expansion of modes of representation through photography. A change that indeed refers to the digitization and the frontiers of post-production, the contamination between different visual languages, the relationship between the availability of technology and new forms of expression. This explosion of the medium combined with an endemic proliferation of pervasive social media encourages us to reflect on the ethical consequences of image making. For this, we seek single images that illustrate the potentiality of the medium without forgetting that photography can separate what is pointless and irrelevant from what is pertinent and poignant.

The exhibition includes 22 projects coming from graduates connected to 17 art academies in 3 different continents of the world. 


Anastasia Mityukova
Ecole Cantonale d’Art de Lausanne, Switzerland

Carson Gilliland
University of Nebraska–Lincoln, United States

Elena Aya Bundurakis
Royal Academy of Fine Arts, Antwerp, Belgium

Karl Ketamo
Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture, Helsinki, Finland


Chaïm Dijkstra
University of the Arts, Utrecht, The Netherlands

Judit Flóra Schuller
Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture, Helsinki

Debbie Schoone
AKV|St.Joost, Breda, The Netherlands

Frijke Coumans
AKV|St.Joost, Breda, The Netherlands

Remy Ugarte Vallejos
Ecole Cantonale d’Art de Lausanne, Switzerland

Elena Negri
Istituto Superiore per le Industrie Artistiche, Urbino, Italy

Suzana Mendes
Fundação Armando Alvares Penteado, São Paulo, Brazil

Rafael Martinez
Istituto Europeo di Design, São Paulo, Brazil

Þórsteinn Sigurðsson
Ljósmyndaskólinn School of Photography, Reykjavík, Iceland

Suki Lui
London College of Fashion, London, United Kingdom

Elizabeth Presland
London South Bank University, London, United Kingdom

Jaime Huidobro
Paris College of Art, Paris, France

Claire Masters
University of Plymouth, United Kingdom

Jane Prior
University of Plymouth, United Kingdom

Liz-Ann Vincent-Merry
University of Plymouth, United Kingdom

Louise Amelie & Aljaž Fuis
University of Applied Sciences Europe, Berlin, Germany

Terry Ratzlaff
University of Nebraska–Lincoln, United States

Naomi Jansen
Willem de Kooning Academy, Rotterdam, The Netherlands